John Loeser
Job Market Paper:
The treatment effect elasticity of demand: Estimating the welfare losses from groundwater depletion in India
CV:
Fields of research:
  • Development Economics
  • Agricultural Economics
  • Applied Econometrics
Publications / Working Papers:
  • Marshallian consumer surplus from intertemporal substitution: Applications to savings, credit, and index insurance (Draft available upon request)

Education:
  • Ph.D. - Agricultural and Resource Economics; UC Berkeley, 2019 (expected)
  • M.S. - Agricultural and Resource Economics; UC Berkeley, 2015
  • Sc.B. - Mathematics; Brown University, 2010
Honors and Awards:
  • University of California Dissertation-Year Fellowship, 2018
    3ie DPW1 Grant, 2016
    CEGA EASST Research Grant, 2016
    CEGA Behavioral Health Economics Micro-grant, 2015

Teaching:
  • Probability and Statistics (graduate) -- Aprajit Mahajan -- Graduate Student Instructor -- UC Berkeley -- Fall 2017
  • Advanced Topics in Development and International Trade -- Jeremy Magruder -- Graduate Student Instructor -- UC Berkeley -- Fall 2016
  • Economic Development -- Aprajit Mahajan -- Graduate Student Instructor -- UC Berkeley -- Fall 2015
  • Intermediate Microeconomics -- Maximilian Auffhammer -- Graduate Student Instructor -- UC Berkeley -- Spring 2015
  • Economics of Climate Change -- David Anthoff -- Graduate Student Instructor -- UC Berkeley -- Fall 2014
References:
  • Jeremy Magruder
    Associate Professor, Agricultural & Resource Economics, UC Berkeley
    Email: jmagruder@berkeley.edu
    Phone: (510)-643-8742

    Aprajit Mahajan
    Associate Professor, Agricultural & Resource Economics, UC Berkeley
    Email: aprajit@berkeley.edu
    Phone: (510)-664-7163

    Elisabeth Sadoulet
    Professor, Agricultural & Resource Economics, UC Berkeley
    Email: esadoulet@berkeley.edu
    Phone: (510)-642-7225

Contact Information:

Department of Agricultural & Resource Economics
207 Giannini Hall #3310
University of California Berkeley, California 94720-3310
Email: john.a.loeser@berkeley.edu
Phone: (914)-434-8214

Placement Directors:

Professor Maximilian Auffhammer
auffhammer@berkeley.edu
Tel: 510-643-5472

Professor Sofia Villas-Boas
sberto@berkeley.edu
Tel: 510-643-6359

Placement Officer:

Diana Lazo
lazo@berkeley.edu
Tel: 510-642-3345

Contact details

John Loeser