The field of economics intersects in complex ways with systemic inequality and racism. As a community of economists, we acknowledge that we can inadvertently propagate – or proactively work to mitigate – these problems through the choices we make as researchers, teachers, mentors, communicators, and colleagues.

The Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics is committed to ensuring that everyone in our community feels supported and valued. We strive to create a diverse and inclusive classroom culture, intellectual community, and social environment. Through our research and public engagement, we are committed to addressing racism and inequality in its many forms.

Acting on these commitments is a work in progress. This webpage summarizes some of our ongoing efforts and initiatives to promote equity and inclusion.

ARE Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee

The DEI committee coordinates and steers department-wide efforts to promote and support diversity, equity, and inclusion. These initiatives include efforts to:

  • Recruit and support a more diverse faculty and student body
  • Strengthen our capacity to mentor and support underrepresented groups
  • Encourage and support undergraduates of underrepresented backgrounds and identities
  • Improve the representativeness and inclusiveness of our pedagogy

The DEI committee is composed of three faculty members and graduate student cohort representatives. This committee oversees initiative-specific sub-committees. The committee meets regularly and more frequently as needed. Please let Meredith Fowlie know if you are interested in being involved in the ARE Diversity Committee. The current committee includes:

Meredith Fowlie / ​Faculty Equity Advisor
Marco Gonzalez-Navarro / Faculty Representative
Lucy Hackett / 1st yr Student Representative
Jenya Kahn-Lang / 4th yr Student Representative
Benjamin Krause / 5th yr Student Representative
Leila Njee Bugha / 2nd yr Student Representative
Jeff Perloff / Department Chair
Leila Safavi / 3rd yr Student Representative

Aaron Watt / 1st yr Student Representative

Guidance for a Constructive Culture of Exchange in ARE Seminars

Building on recent discussions at the AEA meetings and elsewhere on the culture of seminars in our profession, and informed conversations with our faculty and students we have established these PDF icon'best practices'  to help ensure that our department seminars promote an open and vibrant exchange of ideas.

Other resources that provide ideas and suggestions for creating an inclusive and supportive climate include: