Gregory Lane
Job Market Paper:
Credit Lines as Insurance: Evidence from Bangladesh
Fields of research:
  • Development Economics
  • Applied Econometrics
  • Labor Economics
Publications / Working Papers:
  • Mitigating Market Frictions by Monitoring Employees in Small and Medium-sized Enterprises: A Field Experiment in Kenya’s Public Transport Sector (with Erin Kelley and David Schoenholzer)

Education:
  • Ph.D. Agriculture and Resource Economics, UC Berkeley - 2019 (expected)
  • M.S. Agriculture and Resource Economics, UC Berkeley - 2015
  • M.S. Applied Economics, Cornell University - 2013
  • B.A. International Relations and Economics, Tufts University - 2008
Honors and Awards:
  • DFID-TF Impact Evaluations Program, 2018
    BRAC-CEGA Summer Research Grant,  2017
    Weiss Family Program Grant, 2016
    Private Enterprise Development in Low-Income Countries (PEDL) Major Research Grant,  2016
    PEDL Exploratory Research Grant Scale-Up, 2015
    Development Impact Lab (DIL) Innovate Grant, 2015
    UC Berkeley Summer Research Grant, 2014
    UC Berkeley ARE Research Travel Grant, 2014

Teaching:
  • Introductory Applied Econometrics, Lecturer - UC Berkeley summer session 2017
  • Applied Econometrics, Graduate Student Instructor - Spring 2017
  • Development Economics, Graduate Student Instructor - Fall 2014
References:
  • Jeremy Magruder 
    Professor, Agricultural and Resource Economics, UC Berkeley 
    Email: jmagruder@berkeley.edu  
    Phone: (510)-643-8742

     


    Elisabeth Sadoulet
    Professor, Agricultural and Resource Economics, UC Berkeley 
    Email: esadoulet@berkeley.edu  
    Phone: (510)-642-7225 

     


    Aprajit Mahajan
    Associate Professor, Agricultural and Resource Economics, UC Berkeley  
    Email: aprajit@berkeley.edu  
    Phone: (510) 664–7163

     


    Paul J. Gertler 
    Li Ka Shing Professor, Haas School of Business
    Email: gertler@berkeley.edu
    Phone: (510)-642-1418

Contact Information:

Agricultural & Resource Economics University of California, Berkeley Berkeley, California
Email: gregory.lane@berkeley.edu
Phone: (215)-913-3597

Placement Directors:

Professor Maximilian Auffhammer
auffhammer@berkeley.edu
Tel: 510-643-5472

Professor Sofia Villas-Boas
sberto@berkeley.edu
Tel: 510-643-6359

Placement Officer:

Diana Lazo
lazo@berkeley.edu
Tel: 510-642-3345

Contact details

Gregory Lane

Phone Number
Cell: 215-913-3597
Website