Faculty Directory

Faculty | Staff | Graduate Students | Visitors

Faculty |Adjunct Faculty | Professors of the Graduate School | Affiliated Faculty | Emeriti

Faculty


Michael L. Anderson
Associate Professor
Environmental economics, health economics, and applied econometrics, especially relating to questions of causal inference.
Office: 323 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-7628
Email: mlanderson@berkeley.edu
Maximilian Auffhammer
Associate Professor
Environmental Economics, Econometrics, Economics of Climate Change
Office: 321 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-643-5472
Email: auffhammer@berkeley.edu
Peter Berck
Professor
Environmental, Resource, and Forestry Economics. The costs of environmental regulation.
Office: 224 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-7238
Email: pberck@berkeley.edu
Alain de Janvry
Professor
Development economics, agriculture for development, technological innovations, rural institutions, payments for environmental services
Office: 211 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-3348
Email: alain@berkeley.edu
Thibault Fally Thibault Fally
Assistant Professor
International Trade and Finance, Economic Development
Office: 301 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-4820
Email: fally@berkeley.edu
  • ?
Meredith Fowlie
Associate Professor
Energy, environmental regulation
Office: 301 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-4820
Email: fowlie@berkeley.edu
J. Keith Gilless
Dean & Professor
Forest economics & management, wildfire protection planning
Office: 101 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-7171
Email: gilless@berkeley.edu
Larry Karp
Professor
Environmental and Resource Economics, Trade Policy, Industrial Organization
Office: 206 Giannini Hall
Phone: 925-451-6744
Email: karp@berkeley.edu
Ethan A Ligon
Associate Professor
Dynamic incentives and inequality, development economics, agricultural contracts, risk sharing, intra-household allocation, applied econometrics
Office: 331 Giannini Hall, MC 3310
Phone: 510-643-5411
Email: ligon@berkeley.edu
Jeremy R. Magruder
Associate Professor
Labor Markets in Developing Countries, Social Networks, Economics of HIV/AIDS.
Office: 219 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-643-8742
Email: jmagruder@berkeley.edu
Jeffrey Perloff
Professor
Industrial organization, labor, agricultural economics, marketing, trade, econometrics
Office: 328 Giannini Hall, MC 3310
Phone: 510-642-9574
Email: jperloff@berkeley.edu
Gordon C. Rausser
Professor
Agricultural economics, Applied econometrics, Futures and options markets, Industrial organization and antitrust analysis, Natural resource and environmental economics, Public policy and economic regulation.
Office: 230 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-643-9942
Email: rausser@berkeley.edu
Jeffrey M. Romm
Professor
Natural resource and environmental policy
Office: 130C Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-6499
Email: jeffromm@berkeley.edu
Elisabeth Sadoulet
Professor
Development economics, poverty, microfinance institutions, education, program impact evaluation.
Office: 213 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-7225
Email: esadoulet@berkeley.edu
Wolfram Schlenker
Associate Professor
Environmental and Resource Economics, Applied Econometrics.
Office: 329 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-643-9676
Email: schlenker@berkeley.edu
David L. Sunding
Professor, Chair
Environmental economics, natural resource economics, water resources, land use, wetlands, water quality and endangered species
Office: 326 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-8229
Email: sunding@berkeley.edu
Christian Traeger
Assistant Professor
Environmental Economics, Decision Theory, Intertemporal Welfare Analysis, climate change
Office: 322 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-9781
Email: traeger@berkeley.edu
Sofia Berto Villas-Boas
Associate Professor
Industrial organization, consumer behavior, food policy, and environmental regulation
Office: 226 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-643-6359
Email: sberto@berkeley.edu
Brian D. Wright
Professor
Economics of Markets for Storable Commodities
Office: 206 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-9213
Email: bwright@berkeley.edu
David Zilberman
Professor
Agricultural and nutritional policy, economics of technological change, economics of natural resources and micro-economic theory.
Office: 337 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-6570
Email: zilber11@berkeley.edu

Adjunct Faculty


Sara Boettiger
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Office: 312 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-3349
Email: sdb@berkeley.edu
David Roland-Holst
Adjunct Professor
Development; Energy; Environment and climate change; Trade; Food and Agricultural Policy.
Office: 338 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-643-6342
Email: dwrh@berkeley.edu
Leo K. Simon
Adjunct Professor
Range from theoretical game theory to simulation modeling to applied political economy.
Office: 221 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-8230
Email: leosimon@berkeley.edu

Professors of the Graduate School


Anthony C. Fisher
Professor of the Graduate School
Economics of global climate change.
Office: 232 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-7555
Email: acfisher@berkeley.edu
Michael Hanemann
Professor of the Graduate School
Non-market valuation, environmental economics and policy, water pricing and management, demand modeling for market research and policy design, the economics of irreversibility and adaptive management,
Office: 327 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-3345
Email: hanemann@berkeley.edu
George G. Judge
Professor of the Graduate School
Information theoretic approaches to econometric estimation and inference
Office: 222 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-0791
Email: gjudge@berkeley.edu

Affiliated Faculty


Severin Borenstein
Affiliated Professor
Industrial Organization & Government Regulation, Energy Economics, Applied Microeconomic Theory
Office: S545 Haas
Phone: 510-642-3689
Email: borenste@haas.berkeley.edu
Edward A. Miguel
Affiliated Professor
Health Economics
Office: 214 Giannini
Phone: 510-642-7162
Email: emiguel@econ.berkeley.edu
Catherine Wolfram
Affiliated Professor
Regulation of business, Energy and environmental economics, Electricity industry restructuring.
Office: 214 Giannini
Phone: 510-642-2588
Email: wolfram@haas.berkeley.edu

Emeriti


Irma Adelman
Professor Emerita
Office: 223 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-3345
Email: irmaadelman@berkeley.edu
George E. Goldman
Cooperative Extension Specialist, Emeritus
Regional economics, California natural resource issues
Office: 319B Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-524-2512
Email: ggoldman@berkeley.edu
Howard Rosenberg
Cooperative Extension Specialist
Human resource management policy and practice in agriculture, in relation to federal and state laws, production technology, and labor market conditions.
Office: 320 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-7103
Email: rosenberg@berkeley.edu
Gordon Rowe
Cooperative Extension Specialist, Emeritus
Operations analysis; mathematical programming and sampling methods
Office: 319 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-918-1782
Email: growe@berkeley.edu
Jerome B. Siebert
Cooperative Extension Specialist, Emeritus
Agricultural industry, marketing orders and commissions, cooperatives, competition, trade, environmental and resource regulation, exotic pests, and technological development
Office: 319 Giannini Hall
Phone: 925-708-1840
Email: jbsiebert@berkeley.edu
L. Timothy Wallace
Cooperative Extension Specialist, Emeritus
Land use and water policy, national food and fiber policy rural development, and international trade.
Office: 322 Giannini Hall
Phone: 510-642-5495
Email: twallace@berkeley.edu

In Memoriam

Sylvia Lane, d. 2013.

Kirby S. Moulton, d. 2011.

Arnold Zellner, d. 2010.

Jean O. "Jenny" Lanjouw, d. 2005.

John W. Mamer, d. 2004.

George B. Alcorn, d. 1998.


ARE Faculty Awards and Service

ARE Faculty Service

ARE Faculty Awards