Sylvan Herskowitz
Job Market Paper:
Gambling, Saving, and Lumpy Expenditures: Sports Betting in Uganda
Dissertation:
Essays in Development Economics
Fields of research:
  • Development Economics
  • Applied Econometrics
Education:
  • Ph.D., Agricultural & Resource Economics, University of California - Berkeley, expected, May 2017
  • M.A., Honors, Johns Hopkins University, School of Advanced International Studies, 2010
  • B.A., Phi Beta Kappa, Government, Wesleyan University, 2004
Honors and Awards:
  • Center for Effective Global Action - EASST, Research Grant
  • NSF - Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Research Grant, Decision-Making and Risk Sciences
  • Institute for Money, Technology, and Financial Inclusion, Research Grant
  • Center for African Studies, Rocca Fellowship
  • Luther B. Tweeten Student Scholarship; Agricultural and Applied Economics Association
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award, University of California, Berkeley
  • Tropical Agriculture and Impact Evaluation Fellowship; Center for Effective Global Action
  • University of California, Berkeley Graduate Fellowship
  • Bernard and Irene Schwartz Fellow in International Development, Johns Hopkins University
Teaching:
  • Applied Econometrics (undergrad) -- Steven Buck -- Graduate Student Instructor -- UC Berkeley -- Spring 2015
  • International Economic Development and Policy (grad) -- Alain de Janvry -- Graduate Student Instructor -- UC Berkeley -- Fall 2014
References:
  • Jeremy Magruder
    Associate professor, Agricultural and Resource Economics, UC Berkeley
    Email: jmagruder@berkeley.edu
    Phone: (510) 643-8742

  • Elisabeth Sadoulet
    Professor, Agricultural and Resource Economics, UC Berkeley
    Email: esadoulet@berkeley.edu
    Phone: (510) 643-8911

  • Aprajit Mahajan
    Associate professor, Agricultural and Resource Economics, UC Berkeley
    Email: aprajit@berkeley.edu
    Phone: (510) 664-7163

Contact Information:

Agricultural & Resource Economics
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, California
Email: sherskowitz@berkeley.edu
Cell: (207)-512-6649

Placement Directors:

Professor Maximilian Auffhammer
auffhammer@berkeley.edu
Tel: 510-643-5472

Professor Peter Berck
pberck@berkeley.edu
Tel: 510-642-7238

Professor Sofia Villas-Boas
sberto@berkeley.edu
Tel: 510-643-6359

Placement Officer:

Diana Lazo
lazo@berkeley.edu
Tel: 510-642-3345

Contact details

Sylvan Herskowitz